Inspiring Artists – Jenny Pepper – My FMP 2016

Jenny Pepper

Plate 1. Jenny Pepper, n.d, Unnamed

Please check out her website! http://www.jennypepper.com/page5.htm for more amazing imagery!!

I have to honestly say that Jenny Pepper is The artist who got me into felt and fibres. Her form and composition got me just the same way Carragher’s work got me. Utterly so inspired by this that I spent so much time learning and still am learning about felt and fibre.

I partially took interest in this driftwood series because the felt is almost shell-like but almost a foreign species. The added piece of wood really brings the connection to nature. I really feel like I’m by the sea when I gaze upon a vast majority of her work.

In the image, the felt looks puffed up and have these upper ring parts. Later I learned that its called Resist Wet Felt Making, processes I still need to learn, where you place a resist, like an acetate or some kind of plastic sheet, cut into shape and wet felt around it then removed it.

I would love to have a workshop with her at some point in my life haha.

IMG_20170320_174435_604
Plate 2. Leah, Hidden in Plain Sight Stick and Fibre, 2016

In my FMP, I basically worked with sticks with a mixture of felt and weaving. From Pepper’s work, I glued felt onto a stick and stitched, beaded it carefully, to match my primary images for this project. Granted for these I didn’t actually wet felt these, as I didn’t know how too, I wanted to give the sponginess of moss and more needle felted them into shape. The twigs themselves too decided how the felt will overall look depending on how they bent. I crafted a few more experimenting with shapes and embellishments, however, I didn’t have any photos because my college still has hold of my project.

Please go visit her website and get inspired! http://www.jennypepper.com/index.htm

Reference List:

Plate 1. Pepper. (2018) Felt Making Gallery. [Online] Available from: http://www.jennypepper.com/page5.htm. [Accessed 19th January 2018]

Plate 2. Leah. (2016) Hidden In Plain Sight Stick and Fibres. College Education Final Major Project,

Leave a comment